Tag Archive | "Laban Moiben"

Mumbai Half-Marathon Medal 2012

Mumbai Marathon Medal (2012)

Here is some international bling for you! Above is the finisher’s medal from the 2012 Mumbai Marathon that was held on January 15, 2012 in Mumbai, India.

Kenyan Laban Moiben won the men’s event in 2:10:48, breasting the tape a fraction of a second ahead of Ethiopian Raji Assefa after a sprint finish.

Ethiopian Netsanet Abeyo ran a strong and aggressive race to leave the field far behind, winning in 2:26:12, a new female course record by 44 seconds.

Indian male Ram Yadav qualified for the 2012 London Olympics by running a 2:16:59 to meet the 2:18:00 qualifying standard for the games.



Mumbai Marathon and Half-Marathon Finishing Medals

[medal photos submitted by Naresh Kumar. Follow him on Twitter @iamarunr]

Posted in Bling, Featured, International, Marathon, MedalsComments (0)

Markos Geneti Wins L.A. Marathon in Debut

Markos Geneti Wins 2011 Los Angeles Marathon in Debut (Results)

Ethiopian Markos Geneti won a soaked 2011 Los Angeles Marathon on Sunday with a speedy 2:06:35 finish.  Geneti won $125,000.00 for finishing first and winning the gender challenge.  The women were spotted 17 minutes.

Remarkably Geneti had never run a marathon before.  The 26 year-old Ethiopian complained of a side stitch throughout but none of it seemed to matter as he set a record for the fastest California marathon time….ever!

Defending champion Wesley Korir finished back in 4th place with a 2:13:23 finish.

Korir hit a massive wall at mile 21 and thought he was done, for good, “”First of all, I’d like to thank God that I’m still alive,” said Korir, smiling. “I thought it was the end of my life.”

Top 5 Male Finishers

1. Markos Geneti 02:06:35
2. Nicholas Kamakya 02:09:26
3. Laban Moiben 02:13:12
4. Wesley Korir 02:13:23
5. Jason Gutierrez 02:13:24

Top 5 Female Finishers

1. Buzunesh Deba 02:26:34
2. Amy Hastings 02:27:03
3. Mare Dibaba 02:30:25
4. Diane Nukuri 02:33:47
5. Iuliia Arkhipova 02:33:55

Look Up L.A. Marathon Results for All Finishers

Congrats to all runners who braved the extreme conditions to complete the L.A. Marathon

Related Los Angeles Marathon Links

10 Best Things About the Los Angeles Marathon

Markos Geneti Wins 2011 Los Angeles Marathon in Debut (Results)

Flea Runs Los Angeles Marathon in 3:53:00 (pic)

List of 2011 Los Angeles Marathon Elite Runners

2011 L.A. Marathon Finisher’s Medal

Posted in MarathonComments (2)

2010 Chicago Marathon Champion sammy Wanjiru

Sammy Wanjiru Wins 2010 Chicago Marathon Over Tsegaye Kebede (Results)

Kenyan Sammy Wanjiru won the 2010 Chicago Marathon on Sunday morning (October 10, 2010) over Ethiopian Tsegaye Kebede with a time of 2:06:23.  Kebede with the win, won the World Marathon Championship and took home an additional $500,000 dollars.

Elite Men’s Results

  1. Sammy Wanjiru (Kenyan) – 2:06:23
  2. Tsegaye Kebede (Ethiopia) – 2:06:42
  3. Feyisa Lilesa (Ethiopia) – 2:08:10
  4. Wesley Korir (Kenya) – 2:08:45
  5. Vincent Kipruto (Ethiopia) – 2:09:07
  6. Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot (Kenya) – 2:09:28
  7. Laban Moiben (Kenya) – 2:10:47
  8. Jason Hartmann (USA) – 2:11:06
  9. Ridouane Harroufi (MAR) – 2:13:01
  10. Mike Sayenko (USA) – 2:14:27

Elite Women’s Results

  1. Lilya Shobukhova (Russia) – 2:20:25
  2. Astede Baysa (Ethiopia) – 2:23:40
  3. Maria Konovalova (Russia) – 2:23:49
  4. Desiree Davila (USA) – 2:26:20
  5. Irina Mikitenko (Germany) – 2:26:40
  6. Mamitu Daska (Ethiopia) – 2:28:29
  7. Magdalena Lewy-Boulet (USA) – 2:28:44
  8. Kaori Yoshida (Japan) – 2:29:45
  9. Jia Chaofeng (China) – 2:30:34
  10. Tera Moody (USA) – 2:30:52

Lilya and Sammy both repeated as winners of the Chicago Marathon.  Both also won the World Marathon Championship and $500,000 with their wins.

American male Jason Hartmann had a great marathon finishing in 2:11:06.


Posted in MarathonComments (0)

Run It Fast on Twitter

twitter button free