Tag Archive | "Ayele Abshero"

2014 London Marathon Winner Wilson Kipsang

Wilson Kipsang Wins 2014 London Marathon

Wilson Kipsang Wins 2014 London Marathon

Kenaya’s Wilson Kipsang won the 2014 London Marathon earlier today in England with a winning time of 2:04:29. Kipsang is the current World Record holder with a time of 2:03:23 at the Berlin Marathon last year.

Runner-up to Kipsang was fellow countryman Stanley Biwott close behind in 2:04:55. It was a really strong performance from Biwott as he was not one of the top handful of favorites.

Third place for the men went to Ethiopia’s Tsegaye Kebede.  He finished a good ways back (relatively speaking) in 2:06:30 Kebede was the defending champ from last year’s race.

Ayele Abshero (Ethiopia) finished 4th in 2:06:31 just a second off a podium finish with Tsegaye Mekonnen (Ethiopia) rounding out the top 5 with a time of 2:08:06

Much heralded Brit Mo Farah making his marathon debut finished a very respectable 8th place in 2:08:21, just 15 seconds behind a tightly bunched group that would have garnered him 5th place.

Another success story to come from the marathon was American Ryan Vail who finished 10th overall in 2:10:57.

Edna Kiplagat Wins 2014 London Marathon for the Women

For the women it was Kenya’s Edna Kiplagat winning the 2014 London Marathon in 2:20:21.

Fellow countrywoman Florence Kiplagat finished extremely close behind Edna in 2:20:24 with Ethiopia’s Tirunesh Dibaba 11 seconds behind her in 2:20:35.

2014 London Marathon Results

More London Marathon Coverage

Posted in Marathon, RunningComments (0)

Dennis Kimetto Wins 2013 Chicago Marathon (Results)

Dennis Kimetto Wins 2013 Chicago Marathon (Results)

Kenyan Dennis Kimetto won the 2013 Chicago Marathon on Sunday while setting a course record in the process of 2:03:45.

Kimetto was able to hold off fellow countryman Emannuel Mutai who finished on his heels in 2:03:52.

Third place went to Kenya’s Sammy Kitwara in 2:05:16.

First USA finisher was Dathan Ritzenhein in 2:09:45 (5th place overall).

2013 Chicago Marathon Top 10 Men

  1. Dennis Kimetto (Kenya) – 2:03:45 (CR)
  2. Emannuel Mutai (Kenya) – 2:03:52
  3. Sammy Kitwara (Kenya) – 2:05:16
  4. Micah Kogo (Kenya) – 2:06:56
  5. Dathan Ritzenhein (USA) – 2:09:45
  6. Ayele Abshero (Ethiopia) – 2:10:10
  7. Hiroaki Sano (Japan) – 2:10:29
  8. Moses Mosop (Kenya) – 2:11:19
  9. Yoshinori Oda (Japan) – 2:11:29
  10. Matt Tegankamp (USA) – 2:12:28

The female winner of the 2013 Chicago Marathon was Rita Jeptoo, from Kenya, who broke 2 hours 20 min in 2:19:57.

She finished nearly a minute ahead of countrywoman Jemima Sumgong Jelegat (2:20:48). Third place female went to Russia’s Maria Konovalova in 2:22:46.

First USA woman to cross the tape was Clara Santucci in 2:31:39.

2013 Chicago Marathon Top 10 Women

  1. Rita Jeptoo (Kenya) – 2:19:57
  2. Jemima Sumgong Jelegat (Kenya) – 2:20:48
  3. Maria Konovalova (Russia) – 2:22:46
  4. Aliaksandra Duliba (BLR) – 2:23:44
  5. Atsede Baysa (Ethiopia) – 2:26:42
  6. Ehitu Kiros Reda (Ethiopia) – 2:27:42
  7. Yukiko Akaba (Japan) – 2:27:49
  8. Abebech Afework (Ethiopia) – 2:28:38
  9. Clara Santucci (USA) – 2:31:39
  10. Melissa White (USA) – 2:32:37

Congrats to these elite finishers along with every single male and female who started and finished the Chicago Marathon today.

Lookup and view all 2013 Chicago Marathon Results HERE

Posted in Marathon, Results, RunningComments (0)

Run It Fast on Twitter

twitter button free