Oswaldo Lopez Wins the 2011 Badwater 135 Mile Ultra Marathon

Californian Oswaldo Lopez won the extremely tough and brutal Badwater 135 mile ultra marathon through Death Valley on Tuesday.  Lopez finished with a time of 23:41:40.

Japan’s Ryoichi Sekiya was leading for most of the way before Lopez overcame him in the last 35 miles.  Sekiya finished in 2nd with a time of 24:49:37.

2011 Badwater 135 Top 5 Results

  1. Oswaldo Lopez (USA-California) – 23:41:40
  2. Ryoichi Sekiya (Japan) – 24:49:37
  3. Michael Wardian (USA-Virginia) – 26:22:01
  4. Zach Gingerich (USA-Illinois) – 26:45:15
  5. Nobumi Iwamoto (Japan) – 27:30:48

Sumie Inagaki was the women’s Badwater champion finishing with a time of 28:49:27

More 2011 Badwater 135 Results



Run It Fast - The Club (JOIN TODAY)

This post was written by:

- who has written 1052 posts on Run It Fast®.

Joshua Holmes has completed 197 marathons/ultramarathons while running 100+ miles 43 including races such as the Badwater 135, Western States 100, The Last Annual Vol State 500K (3x). His favorite races to date are the Vol State 500K, Badwater 135, Barkley Fall Classic, Catalina Eco Marathon, Chimera 100, Across The Years, Savage Gulf Trail Marathon, Strolling Jim 40 Miler, Tunnel Hill 100, RUTS, EC100 and the Flying Monkey Marathon in his home state of Tennessee. Follow @bayou Follow @joshuaholmes on Instagram

Contact the author

Leave a Reply

Run It Fast on Twitter

twitter button free